Two Gridders Named to National Award Watch Lists

  • By Mike Montoro
  • |
  • July 13, 2017 10:11 AM
  • |
MORGANTOWN, W.Va. - West Virginia University football senior offensive lineman Kyle Bosch was named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, and redshirt junior safety Dravon Askew-Henry was named to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List as announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.
The Outland Trophy, selected by the FWAA, is given to the top interior lineman in the nation.
The Bronko Nagurski Award, selected by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, is given to the top defensive player in the nation.
Bosch, a preseason All-Big 12 honoree by Athlon Sports and Phil Steele, has started all 26 games in which he has played at West Virginia. He was a member of an offensive line that was No. 2 in the Big 12 in fewest sacks allowed and was ranked as a top-five offensive line by Pro Football Focus. The line also paved the way for WVU’s offense to average 485.5 yards per game of total offense (No. 17 nationally), 228.4 yards rushing (No. 25 nationally) and 257.2 yards passing (No. 42).
The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Wed, Nov. 15. Six days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 72nd Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced live on ESPN at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 7. For the third straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta
Askew-Henry started all 26 games during his first two seasons before sustaining a season-ending knee injury prior to the 2016 season. As a sophomore in 2015, he finished with 59 tackles, including 47 assisted, a tackle for loss, an interception and four pass breakups.
The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Thurs., Nov. 16. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

Football - 08/14/17
Simms Suspended
Football - 08/13/17
Fan Day 2017 Another Success
Football - 08/11/17
Players Media Session