WVU's Gee to Chair Big 12 Executive Board

  • By Big 12 Conference
  • |
  • June 05, 2017 01:56 PM
  • |

Dr. E. Gordon Gee
IRVING, Texas - The Big 12 has announced the Board of Directors Executive Committee for the 2017-18 year. Starting July 1, Dr. E. Gordon Gee, President of West Virginia University, will take the helm as Chair of the Committee. TCU Chancellor Dr. Victor Boschini and Texas President Dr. Gregory Fenves will also sit on the committee as Vice-Chair and Secretary/Treasurer, respectively.
Dr. Gee is one of America’s most prominent higher education leaders, having led universities for more than three decades. In 2009, Time magazine named him one of the top 10 university presidents in the United States.
He served his first term as WVU President from 1981-85. Gee also led the University of Colorado (1985-1990), Brown University (1998-2000) and Vanderbilt University (2001-2007) and was president of The Ohio State University from 1990 to 1997 and again from 2007 to 2013. Gee returned to West Virginia in 2014.
Dr. Boschini is TCU’s 10th Chancellor and has been a student-focused leader since he arrived in 2003. Dr. Fenves was appointed as president of Texas in 2015 where he had served previously as the university’s executive vice president and provost.
Gee and Boschini will replace Oklahoma’s David Boren (Chair) and Kansas’ Bernadette Gray Little (Vice-Chair) on the committee.